Mauritius

Premium Visa

Capital: Port-Louis
Population: 1,266,000 (2020)
Official languages: English and Mauritian Creole
Local currency: Mauritian Rupee (MUR)

The Republic of Mauritius has decided, in November 2020, to launch a visa of telework named Premium Visa. The government aims to revive tourism in the archipelago following the health crisis. This residence permit gives the opportunity to stay 1 year and combine work and discovery of the islands.

Composed of an archipelago of 6 islands, the Republic of Mauritius is located east of Madagascar. Port Louis, the capital and largest city of the country, is located on the most important island of the archipelago, Mauritius. The local currency is the Mauritian Rupee (MUR) and is equal to 0.022 US Dollar.

The climate is tropical.

What to do on the islands?

Despite its small size, you won't find anything to be bored of in Mauritius. Stroll along the beach of Flic en Flac and meet the local population (Mauritius). Take a hike: head to the highest point of the Pouce Mountain for a panoramic view of the island. Enjoy a barbecue on Ile aux Cerfs. Attend a mass in the church of Cap Malheureux. See real Mauritian life in Port Louis. Discover the culinary journey of the tea route.

The food is varied in Mauritius. The dishes are based on fish, meat, vegetables, but also tropical fruits. Try the fried mine, a specialty made of Chinese noodles, eggs, cabbage and meat of all kinds.

Cost of living in Mauritius

The cost of living is low in the archipelago. Indeed, the average monthly net salary (after taxes) is currently $537.86. Prices are much lower than in Europe. For information, the rent of a 3 bedroom apartment located in downtown Port-Louis costs about $653 per month.

Health and safety on the islands

It is advisable not to wear jewelry or valuables to avoid attempted theft, as Mauritius is a very touristy place.

Mauritius has been voted by Nomamundi as the best destination for teleworking. This visa is the cheapest and fastest to obtain for any teleworker in the world. Everyone can find themselves in this island, whether you are a backpacker or a stroller.

How to work in Mauritius?

Working in Mauritius can be complicated if you have children. That's why there are coworking spaces that allow you to separate your personal life from your professional life. Currently, about ten coworking spaces have been set up in Mauritius. We advise you to rent your accommodation close to one of these spaces in order to avoid wasting time in local transportation and to fully enjoy your free time. You can locate the coworking spaces in Mauritius on the map below.

Depending on your use, you will find an internet subscription that suits you. Prices range from €20 to €40/month. The historical provider dominating the Mauritius telecommunications market is Mauritius Telecom and is partly owned by the government. There are also wireless wifi boxes for digital nomads, allowing you to benefit from a good wifi connection in a hundred countries.

What is the time difference?

The time zone is UTC+4. Do not neglect the time difference depending on the work you do and your country of origin.The time zone is an important element: there is a psychological risk if the employee connects during the night outside the hours of his colleagues. In some cases, depending on the employee's field of expertise or personality, the time difference will not be a key element in the decision. To avoid suffering from loneliness and to integrate as easily as possible, do not hesitate to exchange with other workers from around the world in the coworking spaces you will be brought to.

A Premium Visa is required for those who intend to stay in Mauritius for a period exceeding 180 days in a calendar year. To qualify for this visa, one must be able to teleworking abroad. All nationalities are eligible for this program. You must have a minimum average bank balance of €1,500/month per applicant. In addition, if you are traveling with your family, you will need to have an additional minimum of $500 per month/dependent person under the age of 24.

What are the deadlines?

Thanks to our services, you can obtain this visa in only 48 hours. Unfortunately, this time period varies according to the degree of occupation of the islands. That is why we advise you to make your request a few days in advance.

Can I come with my family?

If you want to develop your children's cultural awareness, what better way than to go abroad as a family. The learning process for school is different but you can teach them a new way of life and develop their knowledge of the world. The Mauritius Premium Visa allows you to go teleworking with your family.

Can I renew my visa at telework ?

This visa is renewable. Mauritius has not yet decided to communicate on the maximum possible length of stay of telework. At Nomamundi, we advise you to always renew your visa when possible and when you like the destination. Indeed, one year is often not enough to discover a country in its entirety. Moreover, if you decide to go with your family, in order not to disturb your children, it is preferable not to change destination every year but to sometimes stay longer in the country. This allows them to fully acclimate to the new way of life and to feel the benefits of the experience. 

Premium : consular rates according to status

Status of the applicant Consular fees
Principal ApplicantNo
Accompanying person (Spouse or dependent child)No

Premium : documents to be provided

  • Passport size photo of the candidate(s)
  • Proof of income and means of subsistence (minimum amount of USD 1500 per month/applicant and a minimum of USD 500 per month/dependent dependent under 24 years of age) through bank statements/attestations or employment bank statements/attestations or employment contract
  • Travel and medical insurance for the duration of the stay
  • Passport
  • Copy of the accommodation reservation (rental contract or invitation letter invitation letter including a copy of the passport or national national identity card of the host/owner)
  • Arrival and return ticket
  • Marriage certificate
  • Letter certifying parental consent for a dependent child when the child is accompanied by only one parent

Mauritius: what you need to know

Mauritius : Life indices

Quality of life
54%
Security
21%
Health
27%
Cost of living
17%
Pollution
23%

Local weather

Maurice Weather

Local time

Why use Nomamundi for my Premium?

Single price : 90€.

The price of our assistance in obtaining your visa (excluding consular fees)

Premium Application Form

Sign in

Send Message

My favorites

Maurice

Visa Premium

Capitale : Port-Louis
Nombre d’habitants : 1 266 000 (2020)
Langue officielle : Anglais et Créole Mauricien
Monnaie locale : Roupie Mauricienne (MUR)

La République de Maurice a décidé, en novembre 2020, de lancer un visa de télétravail nommé Visa Premium. Le gouvernement a pour objectif de relancer le tourisme de l'archipel suite à la crise sanitaire. Ce permis de résidence permet de donner l'opportunité de séjourner 1 an et d'allier travail et découverte des îles.

Composée d’un archipel comprenant 6 îles, la République de Maurice est située à l’Est de Madagascar. Port-Louis, capitale et plus grande ville du pays, se situe sur la plus importante île de l’archipel, l’île Maurice. La monnaie locale est la Roupie Mauricienne (MUR​) et est égale à 0,022 Dollar américain.

Le climat est tropical.

Que faire sur les îles ?

Malgré sa petite taille, vous ne trouverez pas de quoi vous ennuyer à Maurice. Flânez sur la plage de Flic en Flac et côtoyez la population locale (île Maurice). Faites une randonnée : rendez-vous au point culminant de la montagne du Pouce pour admirer un panorama de l’île. Profitez d’un barbecue sur l’île aux Cerfs. Assistez à une messe dans l’église du Cap Malheureux. Observez la vraie vie mauricienne à Port-Louis. Découvrez le parcours culinaire de la route du thé.

La nourriture est variée à Maurice. Les plats sont à base de poisson, viande, légumes, mais aussi fruits tropicaux. Goûtez au Mine frit, spécialité à base de nouilles chinoises, oeufs, chou et viande de tout type.

Coût de la vie à Maurice

Le coût de la vie est bas au sein de l’archipel. En effet, le salaire net mensuel moyen (après impôts) est actuellement de 537,86 $. Les prix sont beaucoup plus bas qu’en Europe. Pour information, la location d’un appartement avec 3 chambres, situé dans le centre-ville de Port-Louis coûte environ 653$ par mois.

Santé et sécurité au sein des îles

Il est conseillé de ne pas porter de bijoux ou d’objets de valeur pour éviter une tentative de vol, Maurice étant un lieu très touristique.

Maurice a été élue par Nomamundi meilleure destination pour télétravailler. Ce visa est le moins cher et le plus rapide à obtenir pour tout télétravailleur du monde. Tout le monde peut se retrouver dans cette île, que vous soyez randonneur ou flâneur.

Comment travailler à Maurice ?

Travailler à Maurice peut être compliqué si l’on a des enfants. C’est pourquoi il existe des espaces de coworking permettant de séparer la vie personnelle de la vie professionnelle. Actuellement, une dizaine d’espaces de coworking ont été mis en place sur l’île Maurice. Nous vous conseillons de louer votre logement non loin d’un de ces espaces afin de ne pas perdre de temps dans les transports locaux et profiter pleinement de votre temps libre. Vous pourrez situer les espaces de coworking de Maurice sur la carte mis à votre disposition ci-dessous.

Selon votre utilisation, vous trouverez un abonnement internet qui vous correspond. Les prix varient entre 20 € et 40 €/mois. Le fournisseur historique dominant le marché des télécommunications de Maurice est Mauritius Telecom et appartient en partie au gouvernement. Il existe également des boitiers wifi sans fil pour nomades numériques, permettant de bénéficier d’une bonne connexion wifi dans une centaine de pays.

Quel est le décalage horaire ?

Le fuseau horaire est UTC+4. Ne négligez pas le décalage horaire en fonction du travail effectué et de votre pays d’origine. Le fuseau horaire est un élément important : il existe un risque psychologique si le collaborateur se connecte pendant la nuit en dehors des heures de ses collègues. Dans certains cas, selon le domaine d’expertise ou la personnalité de l’employé, le décalage horaire ne sera pas un élément clef de décision.Pour ne pas souffrir de solitude et vous intégrer le plus facilement possible, n’hésitez pas à échanger avec d’autres travailleurs du monde dans les espaces de coworking que vous serez amené à fréquenter. 

Pour prétendre à ce visa, il faut être en capacité de télétravailler à l’étranger. Toutes les nationalités peuvent prétendre à ce programme. Il faut disposer d’un solde bancaire moyen minimum de 1 500 €/mois et par demandeur. De plus, si vous voyagez en famille, vous devrez être en possession d’un montant supplémentaire minimum de 500 USD par mois/personne à charge âgée de moins de 24 ans.

Quels sont les délais ?

Grâce à nos services, vous pourrez obtenir ce visa en seulement 48 h. Malheureusement ce délai varie selon le degré d’occupation des îles. C’est pour cela que nous vous conseillons de réaliser votre demande quelques jours à l’avance.

Puis-je venir avec ma famille ?

Si vous souhaitez développer la conscience culturelle de vos enfants, quoi de mieux que de partir en famille à l’étranger. Le mode d’apprentissage pour l’école est différent mais vous pourrez leur apprendre un nouveau mode de vie et développer leur connaissance du monde. Le Visa Premium de Maurice permet de partir télétravailler en famille.

Peut-on renouveler son visa de télétravail ?

Ce visa se renouvelle. Maurice n’a pas encore décidé de communiquer sur la durée maximale possible de séjour de télétravail. Chez Nomamundi, nous vous conseillons de toujours renouveler votre visa quand cela est possible et quand la destination vous plaît. En effet, une année ne suffit souvent pas pour découvrir un pays dans son entièreté. De plus, si vous décidez de partir en famille, pour ne pas perturber vos enfants, il est préférable de ne pas changer de destination tous les ans mais de parfois rester plus longtemps sur place. Cela permet de s’acclimater pleinement à ce nouveau mode de vie et ressentir tous les bénéfices de l’expérience. 

Premium : les documents à fournir

  • Photo format passeport du/des candidats
  • Justificatif de revenus et moyens de subsistance (montant minimum de 1500 USD par mois/demandeur et montant minimum de 500 USD par mois/personne à charge âgée de moins de 24 ans) par le biais de relevés de compte/attestations bancaires ou contrat de travail
  • Assurance voyage et médicale pour la durée du séjour
  • Passeport
  • Copie de la réservation d’hébergement (contrat de location ou lettre d’invitation comprenant une copie du passeport ou de la carte d’identité nationale de l’hôte/du propriétaire)
  • Billet d’arrivée et de retour
  • Certificat de mariage
  • Lettre certifiant le consentement parental pour un enfant à charge lorsque l’enfant est accompagné par un seul parent

Maurice : ce qu'il faut savoir

Maurice : indices de vie

Qualité de vie
54%
Sécurité
21%
Santé
27%
Coût de la vie
17%
Pollution
23%

Météo locale

Maurice Météo

Heure locale

Formulaire de demande Premium

Pourquoi passer par Nomamundi pour mon Premium ?

Sign in

Send Message

My favorites